Yxng Bane – Shape of You

Cus I love the shape of you mama, I wanna put my hands on yuh, She know I’m tryna open har, Body like a bottle; Coca Cola

When Ed Sheeran dropped the addictive, dancehall influenced pop song known as Shape of You, glasses around the world were raised and people from an eclectic diaspora finally felt like they were a part of this pop music wave that currently runs the world.

That is…. until Yxng Bane picked up his Styrofoam box full of fries and began to eat. “Well let me tell you something” (Enrico Rajah), those fries must have been made in the grease used for the waistlines that moved to this melody because to be honest no version is better than the other. Both songs bring their own unique cultural print.

In Ed Sheeran’s original his other worldly vocals saw people raising their umbrellas with just enough time to protect themselves from a throng of fainting females. Sheeran brings out the pop in the production like a young Michael Jackson, yes, hehe did. Whereas with Yxng Bane he takes the gritty yardie vocals heard in London grime, flips it over like a steel pan and beats it into a sweet instrument so unique and pleasing to the ear that when the beat is heard all that is left to do is to get yourself some rice, peas and Jerk chicken; satisfaction guaranteed.

Now what really sets the original apart from the remake lies in the lyrics.


Rude boy me nuh beg friend,

Big black hand ting it ah end them,

BUH BUH BUH,

These ni**as all pu**ies baby,

I’m the only ni**a that drive that pu**y crazy,

Cus I love the shape of you mama,

I wanna put my hands on yuh,

She know I’m tryna open har,

Body like a bottle

Coca Cola

Cus I love the shape of you mama,

I wanna put my hands on ya,

She know I’m tryna open har,

Body like a bottle

Coca Cola,

Yxng Bane – Shape of you 

Flow: Wavy

Beat: Infectious

Lyrics: Raunchy

photo credit

featured image

4Theculture868.

Leave a Reply

